Will Obama Be Impeached?


 I have been thinking a lot about Obama and the scandals surrounding his presidency. Should Obama be impeached or should he possibly resign?  To answer the first question, another question must be answered. Has Obama committed treason, bribery, a high crime or a misdemeanor?

Article II Section 4 of the Constitution: The President, Vice President and all civil Officers of the United States, shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for, and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, or other high Crimes and Misdemeanors.

He, of course, is innocent until proven guilty. Is there enough evidence that Congress should bring up charges of impeachment which means that he would leave office if convicted? If so, criminal charges would be left to the courts.

Article I Section 3 – Judgment in Cases of Impeachments shall not extend further than to removal from Office, and disqualification to hold and enjoy any Office of honor, Trust, or Profit under the United States, but the Party convicted shall nevertheless be liable and subject to Indictment, Trial, Judgment, and Punishment, according to Law.

Do his colleagues believe Obama deserves to be impeached? Dennis Kucinich, a member of the presidents own party says he should be impeached over Libya. The vice-president implied the same thing by saying that not getting Congressional approval for military action is an impeachable offense.

“President Obama moved forward without Congress approving. He didn’t have Congressional authorization, he has gone against the Constitution, and that’s got to be said,” Kucinich said in an interview with Raw Story.

Technically Kucinich and Biden are right. Other members of Congress have not agreed.

But the questions I am interested in exploring concern crimes and misdemeanors? I do not believe that Obama will resign as Nixon did. Nixon’s resignation spared the nation much anguish, it seems to me. Should Obama not do the same? Perhaps he should, but Obama doesn’t seem to have the type personality that is required for a person to willingly step down.

Some time ago the Obama administration was accused of a cover-up involving the dropping of the investigation of the Black Panther voter intimidation investigation during the 2008 election.

Last week, Judicial Watch released to the public brand new documents from the Obama DOJ that provide further evidence that top political appointees at the DOJ were intimately involved in the decision to dismiss the voter intimidation case against the New Black Panther Party.

The left-wing media touched on this, but allowed it to die as they did any hint of scandal prior to the election.

Another scandal that media and those on the left would have used to bring down George Bush was Project Gunrunner. I believe that it is only because the media refuses to adequately report the scandal that Obama has weathered such storms. National Review Online states that:

President Obama is hiding behind big government in the hopes that a scandal will fade away…Rep. Darrell Issa (R., Calif.) is set to issue a number of subpoenas to federal officials who have ties to “Fast and Furious,” a secret program run by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) that put thousands of semi-automatic firearms into the hands of Mexican drug cartels. Fast and Furious was a new addition to the ATF’s now-defunct “Project Gunrunner” program. It authorized (“pressed” is probably a more accurate word) U.S. gun stores located near the Mexican border to sell thousands of semi-automatic firearms to suspected and known straw-purchasers (those who buy guns for someone who can’t do so legally). The idea, apparently, was that the guns would lead the ATF to the heads of the cartels.

Only when an agent was killed by a gun the Obama administration allowed to be placed in the hands of a drug cartel did the story break and even then it has been largely ignored by the main-stream media.

Now, just as Obama is getting ready to ask for more money from weary tax-payers, another scandal is coming to light and this time at least there is a congressional investigation.

The Obama administration restructured a half-billion dollar federal loan to a troubled solar energy company in such a way that private investors — including a fundraiser for President Barack Obama — moved ahead of taxpayers for repayment in case of a default, government records show.

There is also a cover-up:

General William Shelton, head of Air Force Space Command, told them (Republicans) in a closed session the White House urged him to alter his testimony about the Pentagon’s concerns about a new wireless project by a satellite broadband company.

Are any of the above scandals crimes that are impeachable offenses? It seems to me they very well may be.

Peter Ferrara of The American Spectator predicted in July 2010 that Obama would discredit himself in office and have to resign. I am beginning to think that Ferrara may be right.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Election 2008, Election 2012, Obama and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Will Obama Be Impeached?

  1. samiam60 says:

    Thank you for the Link Back Jlue’s Weblog

    Like

  2. Hi, Have you heard of “Thaddeus McCotter?” He’s from Michigan and running as a Republican. Since he wasn’t at the debate, I had no idea if he was still in it.

    Like

  3. paolosilv says:

    Thanks you’re very kind to let me post here.

    As for your interesting post, I would have to say that Obama should not be impeached, because he didn’t declare war against Libya. He has a certain period of time that is granted to him by the Constitution to use troops abroad. However, it’s not clear if he is using U S Air Force planes in Libya, since we are part of NATO, and he can claim the planes are flying under the NATO flag. The Founders could not have foreseen such a development and didn’t even want us to have a standing army. The emergence of the Axis war against us made it necessary.

    To be honest, I don’t believe President Nixon should have been impeached. Compared to Obama, he wasn’t such a bad guy after all, but he was hated by the liberals because he attacked the Communists during the McCarthy era. I grew up disliking Nixon, who was the first President I lived under when I was a child, but it turned out he was right about Whittaker Chambers and Alger Hiss, who were indeed Communists, as was Harry Dexter White and some of the atomic scientists at Los Alamos. Nixon did dissemble, but no less than LBJ or JFK did. The damage to the country was far greater from his resignation than from his remaining on the job another two years. He did withdraw from Vietnam, he did make peace with Red China, and he did supply Israel with much-needed military supplies. Indeed his standing among world leaders could not have been higher! He did some negative things in Latin America, seeking the ouster of a Marxist, Salvador Allende, and he did extend the Vietnam War longer than he claimed he would. For those reason the Left positively hated him! However he has already been vindicated by history in his aggressive stand against Communism.

    Like

    • jlue says:

      I think impeaching Obama would harm America more than it would help. The African-American community needs to have pride in the first black president. It saddens me he has done such a sorry job. You make some good points about Nixon and we do have to remember that all presidents are human and have feet of clay. We need to look at the good as well as the bad and we really need to end the partisanship that is dividing our country and seek to do what is right for the country. I guess just getting everyone to agree on what that might be is the ‘the rub’.

      Like

      • But he is only half black…and that is no reason to keep a president in office. I cant stand that when i say bad things about nobama im called a racist! I could care less about the color of his skin. He sucks and wasn’t born here..well he hasn’t proven it yet..

        Like

      • jlue says:

        His race should have not be an issue, but when he is criticized, it is made into an issue. That is ‘politics’, I guess.

        I was called a racist for not knowing about a holiday that black people celebrate in Africa called Kwanzaa. It seems that “African” Americans are race sensitive. They are Africans first and Americans second. Perhaps they feel they have a right to be this way because most of them have ancestors who were brought here against their will and used as slaves and many cannot forgive the past or get beyond it. I cannot judge them for this because I do not know what it feels like to be a member of that race. I do know, however, that we all have to forgive and that those who forgive and move on are much more free than those who hold a grudge and unforgiveness. In my lifetime, I have picked cotton in the fields with black people in the south. I know what it feels like to be poor. The thing about that was I did not know I was poor until I went to college and a sociology professor explained it to me.

        I also know that I had no control over which race I was born into or what my ancestors did. I can only control what I do, how I behave, and how I treat others. I deeply regret how blacks were treated in the USA and I would change that if I could, but I cannot. I would like to be judged by what I do and not by what my ancestors did. It seems to me this would be the right thing for others to do. If the tables were turned, I think this is what they would want. I think there are more black people who are racist than white people in today’s America. Perhaps turn about is fair play. But the thing that bothers me is that they turn on people of their own race if the person is not aligned with them politically. I guess that is another example of our up-side-down world.

        If I were black I hope I would think that I live in America because while slave sellers meant evil toward me, God meant it for my ultimate good.

        Like

  4. David Beaufeaux says:

    I truly hope obama is impeached, but I believe there are very powerfull people ie: Islamic party, American Communist Party, the Labor Unions, who will not allow it.
    Is it not an outrage that the Muslims in this country are allowed to pray in the street to Allah five times a day, and at the same time our Christian children are not allowed to pray in school. Obama has hidden his records why is it not reasonable that he be required to allow his records to be opened. The world would see his Kenya birth certificate, his Hawaiian Live Birth Certificate indicating that he was indeed born in Kenya. What about the numerous news articles proclaiming him African Born and Muslim during his campaign for Congress.????

    Like

    • jlue says:

      I think he was born in Kenya. The thing that convinced me was his literary agent. People do not make those kind of “mistakes” in research. Especially when the author is living and well. He would have corrected that long ago.

      Would a white conservative be getting a pass on such an obvious breach of the constitution? I don’t think so. Why have Americans not awakened? I wonder!

      Like

      • David Beaufeaux says:

        Many of the people voting for him refuse to believe any thing negitive about him, and a number of them are in my imediate family. These are other wise inteligent open minded people. The only thing I can think of is listening to his speeches somehow brainwashed them, because the evidence is stagering against him. Fox News did interviews on the street, and asked people at random who they voted for Obama, and quized them on his policies using Mcain’s and they all agreed it was ok if he had Sarah Palin as a running mate and right down the line on Mcains infomation and most of them agreed it was ok with them. They obviously had no clue but said they would vote for Obama again. So how do you explain that??

        Like

Comments are closed.