Have you entertained an angel?


Prestbury war memorial - northern face "G...

Prestbury war memorial - northern face "God forbid that I should glory save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ". On 864428. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels. Hebrews 13:2

Have you experienced entertaining an angel? I firmly believe I missed an opportunity to entertain an angel once. When I was young with small children a stranger knocked on my door. I went to the door to find a small woman whose age it was impossible to guess. She was selling pot holders. She was dressed in a cotton dress with her hair pulled back in a bun type hair style. She seemed different than anyone I had seen in the area. She asked such a small price for the potholders that it seemed she could not have earned enough to make the trip worth her time. Apparently she had walked to my door. I was busy with the cares of my own life and I did not invite her in or buy her merchandise. After she left it occurred to me that she was possibly an angel. It has bothered me for years that I did not purchase what she was selling. I wish that I had invited her to come in.

The Bible also tells us that:

Likewise, I say to you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” Luke 15:10

Notice it doesn’t say the angels are rejoicing, but rather there is rejoicing in their presence. Perhaps that is because they do not experience salvation.

Another verse that I find to be very interesting is 1 Corinthians 6:3.

Do you not know that we shall judge angels? How much more, things that pertain to this life? 1 Corinthians 6:3

Some will say this contradicts the commandment that we are to judge not lest we be judged. I do not think that it does. I think this means that we are to judge situations rather than people. How will we judge angels? I am not at all sure.

Not only is there rejoicing over a sinner who is saved in the presence of the angels, other things will happen in their presence.

Also I say to you, whoever confesses Me before men, him the Son of Man also will confess before the angels of God. But he who denies Me before men will be denied before the angels of God. Luke 12:8-9

He who overcomes shall be clothed in white garments, and I will not blot out his name from the Book of Life; but I will confess his name before My Father and before His angels. Revelation 3:5

And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness: God was manifested in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen by angels, preached among the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up in glory. 1 Titus 3:16

I charge you before God and the Lord Jesus Christ and the elect angels that you observe these things without prejudice, doing nothing with partiality. 1 Titus 5:21

There are things angels would like to know more about concerning salvation:

To them it was revealed that, not to themselves, but to us they were ministering the things which now have been reported to you through those who have preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven–things which angels desire to look into. 1 Peter 1:12

There are angels who worship Satan:

And war broke out in heaven: Michael and his angels fought with the dragon; and the dragon and his angels fought…Revelation 12:7

So the great dragon was cast out, that serpent of old, called the Devil and Satan, who deceives the whole world; he was cast to the earth, and his angels were cast out with him. Revelation 12:9

We are not supposed to worship angels:

Let no one cheat you of your reward, taking delight in false humility and worship of angels, intruding into those things which he has not seen, vainly puffed up by his fleshly mind…Colossians 2:18

Angels are very prominent in heaven. The vision that John had while on the island of Patmos was filled with angels, but it is Christ who is the light. All of heaven is focused on Jesus Christ in His majesty and glory. We are not to worship angels, we are to worship Christ.

If you know an interesting story about angels, or a verse that has caught your attention, please share.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Biblical History, Christianity, Our World Today and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you entertained an angel?

  1. Pingback: Acknowledged by Our Lord Jesus Christ « bummyla

Comments are closed.