We Remember Brother Floyd Battles


Word for Today

Floyd Lee Battles – May 18, 1930 – November 2010

Precious in the sight of the LORD Is the death of His saints. Psalm 116:15

Brother Floyd touched our lives in many ways.  One of his favorite Bible verses  must have been:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6

This was the advice he gave our son.

He was born May 18, 1930, in Anniston, Ala. He moved to Floyd County in 1974 to pastor Pleasant Valley South Baptist Church for 22 years. It was while he was here that he was my pastor for four years.
Our family once traveled to Huron, SD on a mission trip with Brother Floyd and several other members of Pleasant Valley South. I remember how much fun we had as well as how much we enjoyed his preaching.


Just for Fun

Political Point

When I am having difficulty coming up with an interesting topic for ‘Political Point’ I start looking around for something different.  Sometimes I stop by Media Matters. Perhaps they need to change the name to ‘Glenn Beck Matters’ rather than ‘Media Matters’. Why? Because Media Matters seems to be obsessed with Glenn Beck.  They are also very concerned with Sarah Palin, Judge Napolitano and Fox News.  It also seems that they always send me back to Fox or Drudge.

I suppose I have to agree with them that Fox and Drudge have the only interesting material out there these days.

Hopefully tomorrow I will come up with an interesting political point.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Comedy, For Fun, Our World Today, Sarah and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.