Four Days Left Until Christmas – Time to Cook


Word for Today

And Jacob begot Joseph the husband of Mary, of whom was born Jesus who is called Christ. So all the generations from Abraham to David are fourteen generations, from David until the captivity in Babylon are fourteen generations, and from the captivity in Babylon until the Christ are fourteen generations. Matthew 1:16-17

I enjoy genealogy. My husband often complains when I spend hours on genealogy,  searching for more information on the Hughes family tree.  He suggest my time could be better spent with those who are still alive rather than ‘digging up bones’ of the dead. While I can see his point, I take consolation in the fact that the Bible is rich in genealogical accounts.

Even though Joseph is not the father of Jesus, his lineage is given in the book of Matthew. Our heavenly Father gives us all the details concerning the birth of His Son.

Because It’s Christmas

I have searched the web for some recipes I want to try for Christmas this year. Hope you enjoy them as well. I am just giving the link in order to save space. Recipe number ‘4’  is the one I mention on Facebook.

1.

2.
Reeses Squares - 5 Ingredients & No Bake (Reese's). Photo by Marg (CaymanDesigns) Reeses Squares - 5 Ingredients & No Bake (Reese's). Photo by Karen=^..^=Reeses Squares  

No baking required on these!

3.

Picture of Chocolate Truffles Recipe Chocolate Truffles

4. $1,000 Coconut Cake and I think the best ever!

This is from my collection but not original with me. I used to make it every Christmas. My dad loved it but he has been gone since 2001 and I don’t think I have made it since then.

1 box yellow cake mix (or yellow cake made from scratch)

12 oz. pkg. frozen coconut

8 oz. carton sour cream

1  1/2 cup of sugar

1 tsp coconut flavoring

1 package of Cool Whip or bowl of  cream whipped and sweetened to taste

Prepare cake mix as directed for two 9″ layers.

Bake as directed on box. Cool and split each layer into two layers.

Combine sugar and sour cream and mix well. Add flavoring and coconut. (Reserve enough coconut for top of cake) This has to be mixed thoroughly. Place between layers and on top of cake.  I punch small holes in the cake to allow the mixture to seep in. Take time and let the mixture soak in rather than run off the cake. Stack the layers. Sprinkle remaining coconut on top.

Before serving, ice the sides with Cool Whip or whipped cream.

This cake is better if refrigerated overnight or at least several hours before serving.

Political Point

Call your Congressmen, wish them a Merry Christmas, and ask them to please go home and celebrate Christmas rather than passing legislation while constituents are not paying attention.

MERRY CHRISTMAS

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Christmas, Politics, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Four Days Left Until Christmas – Time to Cook

  1. Paolosilv says:

    By all means, have a good Christmas, but please bear in mind that some Congressmen may not be Christian.

    Best, Paolo

    Like

    • jlue says:

      There are some who aren’t, but Christmas is a legal holiday that is celebrated by our nation. It is also a traditional holiday.

      Like

    • jlue says:

      Paolosilv, I hope you have a blessed holiday season and that the love of God surrounds and protects you and yours throughout 2010 and the new year.

      Like

Comments are closed.