Both Christians and Jews Celebrate


Hanukkah menorah

Image via Wikipedia

For Zion’s sake I will not hold My peace, And for Jerusalem’s sake I will not rest, until her righteousness goes forth as brightness, and her salvation as a lamp that burns. The Gentiles shall see your righteousness, and all kings your glory. You shall be called by a new name, which the mouth of the LORD will name. Isaiah 62:1-2

During this season as Christians are celebrating the birth of Christ we should remember that our Jewish brothers are celebrating Hanukkah, the Festival of Lights.


Hanukkah, the “Festival of Lights,” starts on the 25th day of the Jewish calendar month of Kislev and lasts for eight days and nights. In 2010, Hanukkah begins at sundown on December 1. With blessings, games, and festive foods, Hanukkah celebrates the triumphs–both religious and military–of ancient Jewish heroes.

Please go to either the website linked above or to Jewish Outreach Institute and read about this festival. A reader may know of a better site.

There is a group called, Christians United for Israel, who are billed as a national organization dedicated to giving Christians an opportunity to speak with one voice in support of Israel. I am calling attention to the group, but I am not very familiar with their work. I do like the concept. I support Israel and I believe that God’s people should love and support one another.

May all who celebrate Hanukkah have a blessed holiday and all who celebrate Christmas have a Merry Christmas. I look forward to the day when we will all celebrate together.
“He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes I will give some of the hidden manna to eat. And I will give him a white stone, and on the stone a new name written which no one knows except him who receives it.” Revelations 2:17
About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Christmas, Hanukkah and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Both Christians and Jews Celebrate

  1. Paolosilv says:

    That was a very nice post. Probably the two Holidays had slightly different roots, because Israel is warm in December when they celebrate Chanukkah (sometimes spelled without the C) , whereas we tend to think of Christmas as a winter time festival. The Church fathers probably adopted Christmas to counter the Pagan ritual of winter solstice. That’s just my view. Paolo

    Like

Comments are closed.