Sarah Palin – Provoked or Provocateur?


Word for Today

A Psalm of David. Plead my cause, O Lord, with those who strive with me; fight against those who fight against me…Let those be put to shame and brought to dishonor who seek after my life; let those be turned back and brought to confusion who plot my hurt. Let them be like chaff before the wind, and let the angel of the LORD chase them. Psalm 35: 1 & 4,5

Political Point

The Washington Post, using the headline “Sarah Palin as Provocateur”, placed Palin’s speech on the net, but then quickly zeroed in on her use of the term ‘blood libel’. They focused on this to refer to her as the person who is provocative rather than a person who has been provoked by those who have spent every waking moment since the tragedy politicizing the event.

I listened to her speak last night when the speech was aired by Greta Van Susteren and I didn’t notice the use of that term. I thought the speech was exceptionally good. I do not always enjoy Palin’s speeches.

It seems to me that after one has been accused of being complicit in such a heinous crime, a crime in which they had no part, they have a right to defend themselves with strong language. What do you think?

On A Happier Note

Gabrielle Giffords opened her eyes last night and is responding well to verbal commands. While the prognosis is still optimistically guarded, this is the one bit of good news coming out of Tucson.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Conservatism, Our World Today, Politics, Sarah, Shooting in Tucson and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sarah Palin – Provoked or Provocateur?

  1. Rach says:

    I heard part of her speech myself. I do not think she was provoking. However, I personally found her speech quite unnecessary. Everyone knows that violence is not the answer, and the ones who use it don’t care what the ‘answer’ is. I think the whole thing was just about bringing her attention. If you’re in a leadership position there is always a degree of danger that goes with it. I was happily surprised that Obama during his his speech did not speak down to anyone. Palin and Beck have this whole thing going on where they are talking down to everybody and it is really annoying me. I know that there are some ignorant people who blamed Palin, but I don’t think there is really any need to go to the trouble of defending yourself when you and most of the educated world knows you’re innocent.

    Like

    • jlue says:

      That is a very good point and that was one of the things I liked about George Bush. He ignored his critics and accusers so well. Sarah Palin doesn’t do that. I guess that is one of the reasons I don’t like her as much as I do some of the other possible candidates for 2012.

      I haven’t notice the ‘talking down’ thing, but I don’t listen to her that much.

      Like

  2. Paolosilv says:

    He was not a “right-winger” but a very confused drug user who liked to read politically-oriented books. Still, she shouldn’t have been so fast to jump on the media, and tried to appeal for calm. She may have ‘shot herself in the foot.’

    Like

Comments are closed.