How Will You Be Remembered?


And being in Bethany at the house of Simon the leper, as He sat at the table, a woman came having an alabaster flask of very costly oil of spikenard. Then she broke the flask and poured it on His head… Assuredly, I say to you, wherever this gospel is preached in the whole world, what this woman has done will also be told as a memorial to her. Mark 14:3&9

Bruce Lee is credited with saying that the key to immortality is first living a life that is worth remembering.

Some people are remembered by historians for thousands of years and others for only a few generations.

Who is remembered?

Will you be remembered? If so, for how long? I don’t mean to be morbid, but I do think about this.

I remember one person well who was born in the year 1869. That man was my paternal grandfather. That is probably the earliest historical date with which I have a connection.

James Martin Hughes 1869-1954 and Demaris Shirley Hughes 1882-1969

These two people have been remembered for well over a century now. I know, however, that my generation will be the last living generation who remembers knowing them. My oldest daughter did meet my grandmother, but was too young to remember that meeting. It is up to me to keep their memory alive. I am trying to do that.

Today, we have a greater chance of keeping our own memories alive because of the internet and the opportunity that provides.

How will we make the most of that opportunity? The woman mentioned in Mark 14 did not do what she did in order to keep her memory alive, however, she has been remembered for over 2,000 years. She is remembered for a simple act of love and worship of the Lord.

I submit to you that there is only one really important way that we need to be remembered.We need to be remembered by the Lord.

Then they that feared the Lord spake often one to another: and the Lord hearkened, and heard it, and a book of remembrance was written before him for them that feared the Lord, and that thought upon his name. Mal. 3:16

And there shall in no wise enter into it any thing that defileth, neither whatsoever worketh abomination, or maketh a lie: but they which are written in the Lamb’s book of life. Revelation 21:27
About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Called His name Jesus, Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.