A Life Well Lived


Commit your works to the Lord, and your thoughts will be established. Proverbs 16:3

Our church family said good-by to Mrs. Pearl Burnett this week. Mrs. Pearl was 98 years old and had she stayed with us until September 25th, she would have been 99.

There is so much to say about Mrs. Pearl that it is hard to know where to begin. Hers was a life well lived. If her life had to be summed up in one sentence, however, I think that sentence would be:

Pearl Ellen Burnett loved her Lord and she loved His church.

Mrs. Pearl knew where she should be on Sunday morning and she remained faithful until the end. She attended church until the last couple of months of her life when ill-health prevented her from being able to attend services.

One of the blessings of my life was her sweet hug and sometimes a kiss on the cheek. Sundays were more special because I would hear her say, “I love you.” Mrs. Pearl prayed for her church and her church family and we will miss those prayers.

I miss Mrs. Pearl.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.