San Juan Capistrano, CA threatens couple for having Bible study in their home.


American Center for Law & Justice

Image via Wikipedia

In San Juan Capistrano, CA a couple have been threatened with a $500 fine per meeting if they continue to meet in their home for Bible study. The city is in Orange County, CA. According to L.A. Now the couple have already been fined $300. Their case has been taken up by the Pacific Justice Institute.

Christians in America are blessed to have organizations like The Pacific Justice Institute and the ACLJ, American Center for Law and Justice who often come to the defense of people who find themselves in such circumstances. Jay Sekulow has made a positive difference in this country.

The case will most likely be resolved in favor of the couple if the meetings are not causing a problem in the residential neighborhood.  If large numbers attracted to the meetings do cause a problem, perhaps carpooling could help solve any problems with neighbors.

As Christians we must remember that we are to be inoffensive and keep controversy at a minimum. Even so, the Bible has warned us that a time is coming when we will not have an easy time:

Do not fear any of those things which you are about to suffer. Indeed, the devil is about to throw some of you into prison, that you may be tested, and you will have tribulation ten days. Be faithful until death, and I will give you the crown of life. Revelation 2:10

This is a reminder that  Satan, the devil, is the enemy.

Hear my cry, O God; Attend to my prayer. From the end of the earth I will cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For You have been a shelter for me, a strong tower from the enemy.  Psalms 61: 1b-2,3

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity, First Amendment Rights, Our World Today and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.