In God We Trust –


America has become a troubled nation. Today, as much as any time in our history, we need the help of God. Our motto is, IN GOD WE TRUST. The phrase first appeared on an American coin in 1864. It became the official motto of the US after an Act of Congress in 1956. Thereafter it appeared on all US coinage.

Enlargement of the 20-dollar bill. Enlargement...

Image via Wikipedia

This is true today for many in America. It isn’t true of everyone, although, most will agree that America is in trouble. Many people not only realize that we are in trouble, some, rather than trust in God, blame God for the trouble.  And yet,

God does not afflict willingly, nor grieve the children of men. Lamentations 3:33

Recently I am reminded that it isn’t God who left America, but rather America who left God. Whenever we call upon Him, He is still there and when we ask, he will draw near to us.  Lamentations 3:57-58

Most of what is said on radio station WUUS is cute and country – things like, “If you can remember when a hard drive meant a long trip to Soddy-Daisy, you’re one of us…” or”If you can remember when the starter of a car was on the floor above the gas pedal, you’re one of us…”

Last month, while driving with my car radio tuned to station, WUUS 97.3 Classic Hits what was said wasn’t cute or country.  The DJ on “WUUS – Classic Hits said, “In Twang We Trust.” I should have called or written the station to voice my complaint, but instead I just changed stations.

Sunday, I picked up the Parade Magazine and there in big letters, on the front cover, over a Thanksgiving picture I read, “In Pie We Trust.”

I doubt that whoever wrote this really meant he or she trusts pie more than God and I know that the good people at WUUS do not really trust ‘twang’ rather than God, but I wish we, in America, would be more careful about what we say. Words have meaning and they are important.

If we really think about it, we will realize that it is in God we must trust if we are to continue as a nation. He is able to help and keep us. I suggest we be more careful with our words.

This is a faithful saying, and these things I want you to affirm constantly, that those who have believed in God should be careful to maintain good works. These things are good and profitable to men. Titus 3:8

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:14

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In God We Trust –

  1. Al says:

    I have seen several examples of this, and it saddens me every time.
    Disney (or Nickelodeon?) used to run an ad saying “In Raven we trust”. (remember the adorable little girl from the Cosby show?) She had a show in which she played the role of a psychic.
    I love Clark Howard, and it seems to me that he would never approve the ad that our radio station runs that says “In Clark we trust”. Of course many of us do trust his financial advice…but these program directors need to realize the seriousness of replacing God with anyone/anything. Certain actions such as these are not worth the profit that they imagine will come their way. Which reminds me of the verse: “What does it profit a man to gain the whole world but forfeit his soul?” (Mark 8:36)

    Like

Comments are closed.