Incandescent Light Bulbs Legal After All


While I have been too busy or too lazy to read the entire bill that funds the government for one more year (and I am sure if I had I would be very unhappy with much of it due to the enormous spending involved) one good thing managed to get into the bill:

Congressional negotiators struck a deal Thursday that overturns the new rules that were to have banned sales of traditional incandescent light bulbs beginning next year… The spending bill doesn’t actually amend the 2007 law, but does prohibit the administration from spending any money to carry out the light bulb standards — which amounts to at least a temporary reprieve.

The new bulbs were worse for the environment than incandescent bulbs. This is one good thing in the bill, however as Andrew commented on the Washington Times site:

This doesn’t do much for the 200+ good paying manufacturing jobs lost at the now close GE plant in Winchester Virginia, or the thousands of pounds of mercury we now have in our landfills.

Now I have a closet shelf space filled with incandescent bulbs that could have been used for storing Christmas decorations had I only known Congress was going to come through with this reprieve.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in government control over daily life, Our World Today, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.