“Sweet Little Jesus Boy” sung by Mahalia Jackson


No one sings this song like Mahalia Jackson!

For the story behind the song, “Sweet Little Jesus Boy” go to Born of Water and Spirit.

“Sweet Little Jesus Boy”

Sweet little Jesus Boy,
they made you be born in a manger.
Sweet little Holy Child,
didn’t know who You was.

Didn’t know you come to save us, Lord;
to take our sins away.
Our eyes was blind, we couldn’t see,
we didn’t know who You was.

Long time ago, you was born.
Born in a manger low,
Sweet little Jesus Boy.

The world treat You mean, Lord;
treat me mean, too.
But that’s how things is down here,
we didn’t know t’was You.

You done showed us how,
we is trying.
Master, You done showed us how,
even when you’s dying.

Just seem like we can’t do right,
look how we treated You.
But please, sir, forgive us Lord,
we didn’t know ’twas You.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Christmas, Our World Today and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Sweet Little Jesus Boy” sung by Mahalia Jackson

  1. When I first met my wife, she told me that her religion was in a little 3″ X 4″ package…she looked at me and smiled. I had a perplexed look on my face I’m sure…and then she pushed a cassette tape into the player in her car. We worshiped like two teenagers rockin’ out before prom! Mahalia Jackson filled the car with such power and beauty…from that time forward, we enjoyed innumerable hours with Mahalia! God bless you, and thanks for sharing…

    Like

Comments are closed.