Grandpa Russell wrote about- Men on the Moon


I suspect that if he were living today, my grandfather would have blogged. They say the acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Named after president Benjamin Harrison, my grandfather lived a long life and had eleven children. His father’s name was John Marshall Russell. John was named after the Supreme Court Justice who served over three decades and reinforced the principle that federal courts are obligated to exercise judicial review. My great-grandfather, John Marshall Russell was born February 1, 1861 and died July 31, 1937.

Here is a letter to the editor my grandfather Harrison Russell wrote in 1969. (This had to have been written with tongue-in-cheek.)

Dear Editor,    

When I was a boy (about 1899) Uncle Tom, a kind-hearted old man who lived on my dad’s farm would tell me about how the moon in some strange way caused the corn to grow tall or short depending on light or dark moon at time of planting. As I grew older I dismissed it from my mind, but of late I have begun to wonder if maybe the moon does have an influence on things here on earth.

I notice since the boys began trying to go up there and now have gotten there and dug around on it, that our working men and women are driving nice new cars, building nice new homes where no home or maybe a two-room shack was before…

No telling what will happen when the boys begin to dig on Mars.

What do you think?

B. H. Russell 1969

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in For Fun, Our World Today and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grandpa Russell wrote about- Men on the Moon

  1. Pingback: “Pray We Never Stoop So Low” – B. H. Russell 1970 | Jlue’s Weblog

Comments are closed.