What Makes People Happy? – B. H. Russell


One would think better health, longer life

More children growing up to be healthy men and women,

Better homes, nice cars with fine roads,

The best doctors and finest hospitals the world has ever had.

When we get old or disabled we are taken care of.

If all this and many more blessings make people happy

And thankful as it should…

Why all the mobs marching, burning cars,

Looting and burning stores?

I would like to know  –

Why?

B.H. Russell Nov. 1969

This is the last published ‘letter to the editor’ that was found by my sister among my mother’s things. I copied them as my grandfather wrote them.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Gulf Oil Crisis, Journalism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.