What will $10,000 purchase in today’s market?


Not being on Twitter, I did not know this has already been done. With Nancy Pelosi spending 10K a night on her hotel suite in Hawaii over Christmas holidays, I am interested! What could the average American have done with that money? Those who Twitter know that when Romney challenged Perry to a bet during a debate, the Democrats went into action showing how ‘out-of-touch’ Republicans are about how much $10,000 is. 

With the money Pelosi spent on one night one could:

According to Yahoo.com one could buy any one of these cars:

2001 Ford F150
2002 Toyota Tacoma
2003 Acura RSX
2004 Pontiac Vibe
2003 Chevy Silverado
2005 Dodge Magnum
2005 Toyota Prius

Purchase anywhere from 20 acres of land to less than an acre depending upon where one lives.

According to Vanguard:  Open ten Roth IRAs

If a person spends $200 dollars a week on groceries, $10,000 will feed a family approximately one year!.

This amount would enable ten couples to make a ten percent down payment on a $100,000 home.

Also, a person could:

Feed a starving child in Africa for 2.7 years.

Buy warm coats for 200 children.

Feed all the homeless in Chattanooga over New Years Holiday.

Buy classroom computers for a classroom of children in a private school.

Buy a new heating system for a family who has nothing but space heaters for warmth.

Buy pet food for one pet for three years.

Buy 5,000 pairs of gloves after Christmas for homeless shelter.

Rescue about 200 pets from shelters.

Donate 1,000 blankets to homeless shelters.

Donate 1500 canned food items to homeless shelters.

While I could go on, I do not feel I should. As I write this I realize I have no business throwing stones at Nancy Pelosi. While, “Yes”, it is absurd to spend $10,000 for one night in a hotel suite, it is also absurd for me not to do more with what I have. I could do much more. I am reminded of what Jesus said,

Luke 6:41 “And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not perceive the plank in your own eye?

Jesus isn’t going to ask how much we had to give, He is going to ask how did we choose to give with what we have?

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Nancy Pelosi, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What will $10,000 purchase in today’s market?

  1. Terrific post! You came up with it so quickly! Awesome! I really like it. The things you can do with 10k is amazing isn’t it.

    WHY would someone need to spend 10k for a night. I think that one is harder to answer. Heheheh

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog this post?

    Like

  2. Pingback: What will $10,000 purchase in today’s market? | Jlue’s Weblog | Four Blue Hills (A repository, of sorts)

Comments are closed.