And we know that all things work together for good


English: The Horn of africa.

Image via Wikipedia

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28

As a Christian, and in the Christian community, we sometimes look to this verse as referring to BIG things in our lives. We consider only how God is using the big events of life that may seem ‘not so good’ at the time to ultimately work good in our lives and fulfill His purpose.

While I know that this verse is true for the big events, it is also true for small things in our lives.

Yesterday during our worship service we had an insert to our church bulletin from Commission Stories and the story was about famine and starvation in the countries of the Horn of Africa. Today, in a totally unrelated publication, God brought my attention to another kind of starvation in the Horn of Africa.

This story was of a woman named Meseret who is a widow with seven children to raise. She, too, was hungry, but her hunger was a spiritual hunger. I believe that God wants me and others in the USA to consider “World Hunger” of all kinds. Spiritual hunger is just as real as physical hunger.

Living in the USA, most of us never allow ourselves to feel hunger. Both food and Bibles are plentiful. We are able to satisfy our hunger before we realize that we are hungry and oftentimes we mask it with things that do not actually satisfy. We eat sugar or carbohydrates to suppress our nutritional needs and fill our time with activities and things to suppress our spiritual needs.

Perhaps those in Sudan, Ethiopia, Somalia, Kenya, Uganda, and places where needs are noticed are more likely to understand their true needs than we in America, yet the needs are just as real.

Christ would have us be aware of the hunger around us and around the world and be ready to meet those needs.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me, naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me, in prison and you visited me.’ Then the righteous will answer him and say, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? When did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? When did we see you ill or in prison, and visit you?’ And the king will say to them in reply, ‘Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’ Matthew 25:35-40

Related articles

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And we know that all things work together for good

  1. Nativegrl77 says:

    thank you for stopping by my blog …

    Like

  2. Al says:

    You made a very good point, esp. about masking our hunger with sugar, carbs, and activities that aren’t worthwhile.

    Like

Comments are closed.