Who can answer this question about Oscar Night?


With Oscar Night coming up soon I have a question that I would really love to have answered. Hopefully someone will be able to help me here.

Hattie McDaniel won an Oscar for her role in Gone With the Wind in 1939.

Hattie McDaniel won an Oscar for her role in Gone With the Wind in 1939.

For years those of us born and bred in the south have carried a burden of guilt  for what has  been mostly considered “sins of the fathers” since it happened either before many were born or when we were too small to understand the gravity of the sin. This sin was segregation of the races and it was cruel and wrong.

Now, tell me this. Since this is considered a “southern” sin, why was Hattie McDaniel not allowed to sit where she pleased in 1939 when she was nominated (and won) an Oscar for her role in Gone With the Wind?

I do not ask in an effort to excuse the South, but rather to point out that this was apparently something that was not just a local problem.

And as an added note, no one deserved that Oscar more than Ms Hattie McDaniel!

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who can answer this question about Oscar Night?

  1. Pingback: Cheers To Hattie… « Maylana's Closet

Comments are closed.