I was a really dumb kid…


Kids do say the darndest things, but perhaps they think even sillier things. As I grew up, most people knew I was dumb, but at least, I knew it too.

When I rode in a car and saw a ‘yield’ sign, I wondered why the sign would tell us to do such a terrible thing. On Sunday we sang, “Yield not to temptation, for yielding is sin.” I thought drivers had to sin.

My uncle and aunt were named Merle and Edith. When Mother said we were going to Merle ‘n Edith’s house I thought she was calling my Uncle’s name. For the longest time I believed he was named Merlnedith.

Maybe because of how my mind works I particularly enjoyed reading: Book Me a Room in Capacitated. The article is in Reader’s Digest and is said to be found at PlanetProctor.com. I never found it there (Told you I am dumb) and some of his stuff isn’t family friendly, but he does have a sense of humor. Just a few lines from ‘Book Me…’ –

I have been in many places, but I’ve never been in Cahoots. Apparently, you can’t go alone–you have to be in Cahoots with someone. I’ve also never been in Cognito. I hear no one recognizes you there. I have, been in Sane. You have to be driven there.

I can relate to most of Proctor’s humor. Maybe it is because I was a major hypochondriac while growing up and my mind just didn’t work the way the smart kid’s minds worked.

Once I cut my fingernail too much and Mother said it hurt because I had hit the ‘quick’. I thought I was going to die from the trim. If I had two red spots close together I was sure that I had been snake bitten.

Are all dumb people literal thinkers? I got laughed at on more than one occasion for taking things that were said literally. Once on the school bus I encountered the sister of a boy I had ‘told on’ the day before. She threatened me with, “You just tell on him again!” I really had not planned on telling again, but thought maybe I should if that was what she really wanted. I think my sister finally explained the situation to me.

I would search our pasture for hours looking for baby kittens. The mother cat came in with kittens once so why couldn’t I find kittens too?

When I read cartoons, I sometimes pretended that I was in the cartoon. That is called egotistical, I guess.

If you like cartoons, you might like The Funny Times Cartoon site where one is permitted to make and share the cartoons they envision.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in For Fun, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I was a really dumb kid…

  1. Robert Flanigan says:

    Re: Reader’s Digest ‘Capacitated’ in Planet Proctor.
    I couldn’t find it either.
    I could have re-typed it in the time I spent looking.
    It was fun thinking of Firesign Theatre though.

    Like

Comments are closed.