Things that matter….


For my 1,000th post, I want to write about what is important to me and why.

THINGS THAT MATTER TO ME!

My faith in Christ Jesus matters to me. It has been so for many years. Yesterday I heard a sermon based on John 3:5. Interestingly, that was the verse that God used to get my attention many years ago when I came to know Him personally. In it he tells Nicodemus, “You must be born again.” Nicodemus was a ruler of the Jews, a Pharisee and a member of the Sanhedrin. If works will save a person, Nicodemus would be saved, but Nicodemus came to Jesus because he knew he needed something more. I knew I needed something more than trying to be good and going to church every Sunday. Jesus Christ offers mankind that “something more.” He offers us what we cannot provide for ourselves – redemption! He offers us the opportunity to look to Him and allow Him to work on our behalf. We must repent, turn from our own sinful way, and turn to Him. Trust Him, and He takes care of the “new birth.”

Nicodemus and Jesus

Nicodemus and Jesus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Brother Bruce Wyatt put it this way:

When we try to please God, we try to clean ourselves up! We try to put NEW CLOTHES ON THE OLD MAN to make ourselves acceptable to God. How about we go to Him and let Him do His work. He will clean us up and put a NEW MAN IN THE OLD CLOTHES.

After creating the ‘new man’, God goes on to give us a new suit by clothing us in His righteousness.

Family matters to me. The first recorded genealogy is found in the Bible and I believe family matters to God. The Bible tells us that God hates divorce:

For the LORD God of Israel says that He hates divorce, for it covers one’s garment with violence, says the LORD of hosts. Malachi 2:16

We learn more about His love for family in Ephesians 5-6.

Government matters to me. I know that all power belongs to God and He gives power to presidents and to governments. I am interested in the person to whom this power is given. I pray for God to give power to someone who cares for each person because each person is cared for by God. Individually we may and should say to God:

For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well. My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them. How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! Psalm 139 13-17

Those who hear and understand Psalm 139 will never again vote for a candidate who refuses to give government protection to the unborn. We are told to pray for our leaders and I think we should pray every day for God to give us a godly president.

What is happening on the world stage is important, therefore I am passionate about this and it matters to me. Our so-called Supreme Court has made a ruling that there is to be a separation of church and state. There is just one problem. The justices forgot to run this by the Lord God for His approval. From the beginning there was no separation. It has not been so and it cannot be so.

Deuteronomy 4:9-10, 6:7, 11:19 are very clear. God’s people are told to teach their children God’s precepts. We cannot do this if we do not allow our children to know that there is a creator God who cares about them personally. We cannot send them to a secular school where they are taught there is no Creator and expect our nation to remain strong. I am not suggesting that we establish a church state, but I am suggesting that we allow for students to be taught that in the beginning God… If we fail to do this, our nation will fall. Thank God for parents who are taking the time to school their children at home or privately.

Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a reproach to any people. Proverbs 14:34

Listen to 1 Peter 4:7:

Now the end of all things is at hand.

Brother Bruce also pointed out some interesting history yesterday. He touched  on what I have mentioned before and I want us to take a close look at what he brought up in his sermon:

Daniel 12:4 But you, Daniel, shut up the words, and seal the book until the time of the end; many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall increase.

Now consider that from the time of creation until around the turn of the 20th century everything remained pretty much the same as far as the way mankind communicated, labored, traveled, and used lighting. It was the latter part of the 19th century when inventors began to find better ways to communicate, travel, and harness electricity. It was the beginning of the 20th century before enough progress was made that these inventions began to benefit men and women in all the major countries. Today, in the 21st century, the third world countries are beginning to benefit –  5 Examples of How Technology Has Advanced the Third World. Knowledge is definitely increasing and we are definitely running to and fro.

Did you listen to 1 Peter 4:7:

Now the end of all things is at hand.

A person doesn’t need to be extremely smart to see that the end-time prophecies are lining up quickly and the Bible could have been written this century it is so relevant to today’s world.

There is one other thing that matters to me. If you are reading this, you matter to me. I want you to be ready when the trumpet sounds and the dead in Christ rise first.

For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. 1 Thessalonians 4:16

Maybe I am thinking about myself, but it matters to me that I tell others. I want someone to go with me to heaven, because I told that person about the Lord.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in abortion, Bible prophecy, Christianity, Constitutional Rights, Creation (Evidences), Election 2012, Our World Today, Pray for the USA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.