Just thinking of Mother


My mother has many things about her that are special, but two things are very special to me – her voice and her smell. I have loved those two things all my life.

I must have loved her voice even before I was born. She is now 92 years old and while she has some memory loss and doesn’t look the same as she once did, when I call her on the phone I still love hearing her voice. It is a happy, optimistic sound and always filled with love. Mother 001

Some of her things are at my home now for safe keeping and sometimes I open the drawer of her dresser just to get the fragrance of her smell. I am never disappointed.Mother 002

Mother and SMokey BearOdessa Hughes

While raising her children, she had a way of making the small things fun and making little seem like much.

She was raised in poverty herself, but she was never poor.

God has taught me that no matter how long we live, if we keep the things that are special to those we love, we are never old. May God continue to bless you, Mother!Nanny & Santa 2012

The fear of the LORD prolongs days, but the years of the wicked will be shortened. Proverbs 10:27
About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Our World Today and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just thinking of Mother

  1. Dana says:

    I love you Mother. Nanny is amazing. Her optimism and happiness hold a special place in my life. I am so thankful to have a Mother who is still my life line. The fact that you love your mother the way you do is one of the reasons I love you so much. Thank you for all you are to me and my family.

    Like

  2. jlue says:

    If you want to join us, we will have a trio. Ed will join in and make it a quartet.

    Like

Comments are closed.