What will you do during your dash? Billy Dean reminds us that we are only here for a little while.


Mike Linch at North Star Church in Kennesaw, GA spoke to the graduating seniors there on Sunday May, 19th. He said something very intriguing. He talked to them about what they would do during the dash, or how they would spend their dash.

Everyone has a dash. Walk through a cemetery and you will see the dash that belongs to others. My dad’s dash looks like this: 1911 – 2001. Grave Site Marvin Hughes 2010

For most inhabitants of planet Earth, the dash is complete, but if you are reading this, you are still working on your dash.

We never know, however, when time will run out and our dash will be complete.

Pastor Linch impressed upon the graduating seniors that choices they make now will determine how they fill in this period that eventually will be marked with a dash. The choice they make concerning Jesus Christ will be a tremendous factor in how this period of time is filled.

This morning I read 2 Chronicles 16:9. 

For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him…2 Chronicles 16:9

Personally, I need a LORD who will “show Himself strong” on my behalf. I am unable to handle the overwhelming problems that life presents today. As sheep need a shepherd, I, too, need a Shepherd.

Jesus said:

“I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own. As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep. John 10:14-15

If we would have our dash to be truly meaningful, according to the word of God, we must do two things. First we must take up our cross and secondly, we must follow Jesus Christ.

And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me. Matthew 10:36

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Called His name Jesus, Christianity, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.