You Can Trust the Bible Because You Can Trust God


Erwin Lutzer, in his book Seven Reasons Why You Can Trust The Bible wrote”:

The Bible harmonizes with the theory of relativity (2 Peter 3:8). It also agrees with the first law of thermodynamics that the amount of matter in the universe is constant; none is being created or destroyed (Genesis 2:2). Finally, the Bible substantiates the second law of thermodynamics, that the order of the universe is “wearing out” (Hebrews 1:11-12).

Dr. Lutzer also quoted the astronomer Robert Jastrow:

“For the scientist who has lived by his faith in the power of reason, the story ends like a bad dream. He has scaled the mountains of ignorance, he is about to conquer the highest peak; as he pulls himself over the final rock, he is greeted by a band of theologians who have been sitting there for centuries.”
Robert Jastrow, God and the Astronomers

Personally, I think we do not need these seven reasons to trust the Bible. I trust the Bible because God has proven to be faithful and real in my life and I trust Him. The truth of His Word always trumps the lies of Satan in this life. However, I am ordering these for our church library and I  hope many will be interested enough to read these books by Dr. Lutzer and Dr. Jastrow. We do need to be ready to give an answer and these books are certainly helpful in this area.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Creation (Evidences), evolution and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.