Pareidolia – Your mind is telling you the rock is a rat. Or is it the other way around?


A ‘rat’ on Mars? It’s actually a psychological phenomenon called pareidolia

Pareidolia is described as a phenomenon where  your mind perceives a familiar shape in a vague or random image.

Well, yes, my mind did perceive a familiar shape when I saw the picture, but I am not so sure about it being vague or random. Somehow that explanation causes me to think of the statement, “Just because I’m paranoid doesn’t mean they aren’t out to get me.”

It seems to me, ‘Pareidolia’ is in this case a useless term. It has very little to do with anything. Our minds perceive the image because the image looks like something we have seen before. In this case, the rock looks like a rat. Either that, or there is a dead rat on the surface of Mars. That image isn’t vague and it isn’t random. It looks like a rat.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Our World Today and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pareidolia – Your mind is telling you the rock is a rat. Or is it the other way around?

  1. Pingback: #Pareidolia | #BattleOfOurTimes.Com

Comments are closed.