Who does Jesus say He is?


Jesus

Jesus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We do not have to guess. Jesus plainly states who He is:

“Christ, the Son of the Blessed”

Mark 14:61-62  Again the high priest asked him, “Are you the Christ, the Son of the Blessed?”   And Jesus said, “I am, and you will see the Son of Man seated at the right hand of Power, and coming with the clouds of heaven.”

“The Messiah”

John 4:  The woman said to him, “I know that Messiah is coming (he who is called Christ). When he comes, he will tell us all things.” Jesus said to her, “I who speak to you am he.”

“The Door”

So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. John 10:7

John 10:9  I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.

“Son of Man”

John 8: 28 So Jesus said to them, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he, and that I do nothing on my own authority, but speak just as the Father taught me.

 “I am”

John 8:…22 So the Jews began to ask, “Will He kill Himself, since He says, ‘Where I am going, you cannot come’?” 23 Then He told them, “You are from below; I am from above. You are of this world; I am not of this world. 24 That is why I told you that you would die in your sins. For unless you believe that I am He, you will die in your sins.”…54 Jesus answered, “If I glorify Myself, My glory means nothing. The One who glorifies Me is My Father, of whom you say ‘He is our God.’ 55 You do not know Him, but I know Him. If I said I did not know Him, I would be a liar like you. But I do know Him, and I keep His word. 56 Your father Abraham was overjoyed to see My day. He saw it and was glad.” 57 Then the Jews said to Him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and You have seen Abraham?” 58 Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.

“From God”

John 9: 33,39 If this man were not from God, he could do nothing.” Jesus said, “For judgment I came into this world, that those who do not see may see, and those who see may become blind.”

“The way, the truth, and the life”

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

“The resurrection and the life”

John 11:25;26 Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die. Do you believe this?”

“One with the Father”

John  10:30 I and my Father are one.

The same as His “Father”

John 14:9 Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?

“The Bread of Life”

John 6:35 And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

John 6:48 I am that bread of life.

John 6:51 I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.

“Light of the world”

John 8:12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

“The True Vine”

John 15:1 I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman.

“Present with the Father before the foundation of the world”

John 17:24  Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.

“The Good Shepherd”

John 10:11 I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

John 10:14-15 I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep.

“The Bridegroom”

Matthew 9:14-15   Then the disciples of John came to him, saying, “Why do we and the Pharisees fast, but your disciples do not fast?”And Jesus said to them, “Can the wedding guests mourn as long as the bridegroom is with them?

Name That Saves

17 For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him. 18Whoever believes in Him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is already condemned, because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

Other things Jesus said which teach that He is One with God:

Matthew 21:13  He said to them, “It is written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer,’ but you make it a den of robbers.”

Matthew 6:5 and Luke 12:8 And he said to them, “The Son of Man is lord of the Sabbath.”

John 6:44-45b No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him. And I will raise him up on the last day. It is written in the Prophets, ‘And they will all be taught by God.’

John 8:23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world.

He acknowledged that He  fulfilled prophecy.

Isaiah 6:9  And he said, Go, and tell this people, Hear ye indeed, but understand not; and see ye indeed, but perceive not. 

John 9:39 And Jesus said, For judgment I am come into this world, that they which see not might see; and that they which see might be made blind.

Luke 4:18-21 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, To preach the acceptable year of the Lord. And he closed the book, and he gave it again to the minister, and sat down. And the eyes of all them that were in the synagogue were fastened on him. And he began to say unto them, this day is this scripture fulfilled in your ears.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Called His name Jesus, Christianity, Our World Today and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who does Jesus say He is?

  1. but he comes so that the world may learn that I love the Father and do exactly what my Father has commanded me.

    Like

    • jlue says:

      Lora, He came to bear the sins of the world, mine and yours included, on Calvary’s cross. He emptied Himself and took on the form of a man so that we might be saved. He could have called 10,000 angels to rescue Him at any moment. He chose to die that we might live. In doing so, He made Himself subject to the Father.

      Like

Comments are closed.