Let’s Remember Job For His Faith


For thy Maker is thine husband; the LORD of hosts is his name; and thy Redeemer the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall he be called. Isaiah 54:5

Until recently, I did not know that Christ Jesus is not specifically referred to as ‘Redeemer’ in the New Testament’.  I must say, this puzzled me. The Bible teaches that Jesus came to “seek and to save that which was lost.” Luke 19:10 This is clearly redemption, which is a ‘buying back’ or ‘repurchasing’ of something lost or sold. Clearly Christ did this for us. He came to live a perfect live without sin and to take our place, to die for our sins so that we might live.

The Bible does say that He redeemed us to God:

And they sung a new song, saying, Thou art worthy to take the book, and to open the seals thereof: for thou wast slain, and hast redeemed us to God by thy blood out of every kindred, and tongue, and people, and nation; Revelation 5:9

If a person truly wants to know who Jesus Christ is, He will reveal Himself to that person. I think that Job’s life proved this. Job is remembered for his suffering, but I think we should remember him for something much greater. Job should be remembered for his faith and he actually is. Most people know that Job said, speaking of God:

Though he slay me, yet will I trust in Him: but I will maintain mine own ways before Him. Job 13:15

Do you recall this  prayer that Job prayed in the midst of his suffering?

Oh that my words were now written! Oh that they were printed in a book! That they were graven with an iron pen and lead in the rock for ever! For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth: Job 19:23-25

That prayer was certainly answered! I think that his faithfulness also resulted in God revealing this to Job:

For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth: Job 19:25

God answered Job’s prayer and in doing so He also revealed to us that Jesus Christ is not only the Son of God, but God the Son. Read Isaiah again…

For thy Maker is thine husband; (Jesus Christ is the groom and the Church is the bride*)the LORD of hosts is his name; and thy Redeemer (Jesus not only “redeemed us to God”, in the latter days He stood upon the earth and is coming again in like fashion as His disciples saw Him leave*) the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall he be called. Isaiah 54:5

And the LORD shall be king over all the earth: in that day shall there be one LORD, and his name one. Zechariah 14:9.

*Revelation 21:2

*Acts 1:11

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible prophecy, Biblical History, Called His name Jesus, Christ, Christianity, Jesus, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.