Shelter from Storms


April 27, 2011 we got a call no one wants to ever receive. A tornado had touched down in Ringgold, Ga where my daughter and two grandsons live.

Thankfully, they were spared. There were others, however, who lost loved ones that day. An entire family was killed. Businesses were destroyed and the schools my grandsons attended were hit.

Growing up in AL, I can remember when many people had storm cellars. Our family did not, but my parents had a healthy respect for tornadoes or twisters as they were often called. There was a path, which barely missed us, that was named tornado alley because of the number of times the twisting winds seemed to follow that particular path through the region.

Scripture speaks often of storms at sea. We know that Jesus could calm the raging seas by ordering the wind to “be still.”

When storms rage and men and women look for shelter, there is only one place of true safety.

The name of the LORD is a strong tower;
the righteous man runs into it and is safe.  Proverbs 18:10

From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy. Psalm 61:2-3 

Our literature and songs reflect how men for ages have taken shelter in our Creator/Redeemer God:

The story of Augustus Toplady and how he came to write the hymn Rock of Ages is very interesting. I hope you will visit the site:  Official Rock of Ages

A Shelter In the Time of Storm is a very old hymn written by Vernon J. Charlesworth and set to music by Ira D. Sankey. The story is found at Hymnpod.

Wherever we live on the planet, there will some type of climatic storm that frequents our area.  For whatever reasons, God sends storms into our lives. Nahum the prophet wrote:

The LORD is slow to anger, and great in power, and will not at all acquit the wicked: the LORD hath his way in the whirlwind and in the storm, and the clouds are the dust of his feet. Nahum 1:3

 

 

 

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christ, Christianity, Jesus, Our World Today, Pray for the USA, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shelter from Storms

  1. Pingback: End Times Prophecy Headlines: April 16, 2014 | End Times Prophecy Report

Comments are closed.