James Rogers – Our Hometown Hero


James Rogers

Most small towns have somebody who is famous they are able to call their own, but few have someone who is as nice and as equally talented as James Rogers. This is the person we claim in Ft. Oglethorpe, Georgia.

James Rogers was actually born across the state line in Chattanooga, TN, but he and his family moved to Ft. Oglethorpe while he was a child. 

I began teaching at Ft. Oglethorpe, the elementary school he attended, after he had completed his years there, but I did get to enjoy his yearly returns to entertain at our Labor Day celebrations – Labor Day at the Post.

Many of you may know him from seeing him perform at Dollywood, Pigeon Forge, TN. He spent most of his career performing there, but during that time he also performed at other venues and had many great recordings. Fly Eagle Fly is probably my favorite, but he also has a great video called, “I guard America.”

James was highly honored in 1999 when the National Guard adopted the song, “I Guard America” as their official song. If you haven’t heard this, you will want to watch the video.

He is well-known for his great rendition of Donald Duck singing ‘Santa Claus Is Coming to Town.”

May God bless James Rogers, our hometown hero, as well as the USA.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in For Fun, Heroes Among Us, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.