Norma Jean Hughes – August 24, 1939 -August 28, 1939


Sisters are different flowers from the same garden. ~Author Unknown

On this day, 75 yeas ago,  a baby was born to Richard Marvin Hughes and Ida Odessa Russell Hughes – a girl. They named her Norma Jean. There are no pictures of this child – not even one. My mother says she had beautiful, black curly hair. She died four days after she was born.

She now is at rest in Shoal Creek Cemetery in Morgan County, Alabama. She lies next to her grandmother, and mine, Temperance Jane Russell.

Her name is seldom mentioned anymore. When I was a child, I would pretend she was with me and imagine what she was like. I still wonder what she would have been like.

There are few stories about her life, but one about her death fascinates me. Our mother tells me that on the day Norma Jean died, Mother saw the ceiling of the bedroom where she lay, open, and an angelic figure took an infant child up through the opening. A few minutes later my dad came into the room and told Mother the baby had died. Mother was never a person who was considered ‘psychic’ or even overly religious. This type story was rather ‘out of character’ for her. She always told the story in a matter-of-fact way and she never doubted that it actually happened. Neither did I.

Today, were she still living, we would most likely be celebrating in some way as she would be turning 75. Instead, I am remembering that I have an older sister in heaven.  A sister, my living sister and I have never seen, but one that we will meet someday. I believe that we will know one another the moment we get there and will not have to be introduced.

Happy Birthday, Sis!

I guess I could be wrong about the introduction part.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Heaven, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Norma Jean Hughes – August 24, 1939 -August 28, 1939

  1. Dana Goolesby says:

    Thanks for sharing that with me.

    Date: Sun, 24 Aug 2014 12:50:38 +0000 To: dana_goolesby@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Josef Sefton says:

    Jlue, you are a fantastic storyteller. Our Lord will always do the right thing.

    Christians have many wonderful adventures to look forward to.

    God bless you!

    Like

    • jlue says:

      Thank you Josef and Dana:
      Josef, It is so nice to meet fellow Christians on-line and know that some day we will meet in heaven.
      Dana, someday you and I will know Norma Jean.

      Like

Comments are closed.