Life of a nonagenarian…


My mom is now a nonagenarian. She is ninety-four years of age.

Mother - age 93

Mother – age 93

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: Ecclesiastes 13:1

When I call Mother and hear her voice on the phone, without fail, she sounds happy and loving; she is happy to hear from me and happy to know the little things about my life. The ‘mother’ in her worries more about me than about herself. It is such a blessing to know that I have someone who cares so much for me.

Life has changed so much for my precious mother. I would like to share what I have witnessed as I have observed Mother and how her life has changed. There are many “downs” with getting old, but with every season, God gives us grace.

My sweet mother always chooses happiness. This is not only an ‘up-side’ for her, it is a blessing for all who visit her.

On the down side, we in America do not revere the elderly in our society. Just as the body fails, so we fail to recognize the wisdom and significant contributions the elderly have to offer. Upside: God has given them a longer time to serve others and more time to do those things that please Him. This means their reward will be great.

It is hard for me to think about everyone I know in my age group being gone. For Mother, this is a reality. Upside: She does enjoy making new friends and almost everyone treats her special because she is very special.

How will we feel when someone comes for our car keys? This is another of Mother’s realities. Upside: She never has to fight rush hour traffic, pay auto payments, insurance, or worry about the price of gasoline. She cruises in her wheelchair and enjoys all the amenities where she lives.

The only decision she gets to make about money is whether to buy from a vending machine. Upside: She has learned to enjoy the freedom of not having to worry about paying bills.

Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life. Proverbs 16:31

It certainly isn’t just my mom who has had to give up their home. Almost all elderly people end up losing their home at some point.  Both of the homes where Mother lived during her marriage and raising her family are now sold. Upside: She has no up-keep, no cleaning, no concerns about taxes, insurances, or burglaries.

Her spouse of 64 years is no longer with her. Upside: She still has memories that will always be with her and the blessings brought by two children, six grandchildren, thirteen great-grandchildren, and eight great-great grandchildren.

Mother has lost all her sisters, except one, and her only brother. No up-side here except she and the sister realize how much they mean to one another.

She no longer hears from her nieces and nephews except on rare occasions. Upside: When they do call on her it is a happy re-union and celebration.

I read labels and consider benefits vs side effects when my Dr. writes a new prescription. I do not like to having what seems like life and death decisions made for me.  All of these decisions are now made for my mom. Upside: She doesn’t have to worry about getting it right.

Most of her clothes are bought without any in-put from her. Upside: She doesn’t have to try on clothes or make decisions about prices, fashion, or attractiveness.

Imagine never getting to choose what you will be having for breakfast, lunch or dinner. This is her reality. Upside: She never has to cook or sweat over a hot stove.

With long life I will satisfy him and show him my salvation.” Proverbs 91:16

Many times her memory just isn’t there. She forgets things she did a few hours ago. Upside: One can’t worry about forgotten problems.

If the Lord allows me to live as many days as my mother has lived, I want to be able to be as sweet and thankful as she is. She appreciates everything done for her and almost never complains, in fact, she sings and yodels.

Mother had a difficult childhood. She is a perfect example of a person who took lemons and made lemonade!

I love you Mother and I think you are an amazing, wonderful person!Scan_20150805 (14)

Earlier times…

Nanny with her great grandchildren.

Nanny with five of her great-grandchildren.

 

 

 

Odessa Hughes

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you know a nonagenarian, why not stop by to see them. Take them a small gift. They have given so much throughout their lives and have recently lost so much. Most, like Mother, will smile and be very grateful for your visit. If you can’t visit, they love getting mail and packages.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in family, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.