How Deep the Father’s Love For Me


Stuart Townsend wrote the hymn “How Deep the Father’s Love for Me”.  I am always moved by the words of this song.

A pastor and mentor, Brother Howard Smallwood, said to me, many years ago, something very similar to what Stuart Townsend said. Brother Smallwood said many of our songs exalt men rather than God. Stuart Townsend said he wrote “How Deep the Father’s Love for Me” because:

The danger now is that we are so focused on the experience our worship can become self-seeking and self-serving. When all of our songs are about how we feel and what we need, we’re missing the point. There is a wonderful, omnipotent God who deserves our highest praise, and how we feel about it is in many ways irrelevant!  I want to encourage the expression of joy, passion and adoration, but I want those things to be the by-product of focusing on God – I don’t want them to become the subject matter. I’m trying to write songs that refer to us as little as possible, and to Him as much as possible!

I want to be aware of how to serve God our Savior. I know I have to be on guard that I do not mistake a wish to feel righteous with worship. I am to worship the Lord my God and Him only am I to serve. When I truly worship, I realize my own unworthiness.

Titus 3:4 But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, 5 he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit, 6 whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, 7 so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Teaching, Christ, Christianity, Covenant Promises, Grace of God, Our World Today, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.