Happiness becomes real when it is shared.


May 25, 1963, two very broke, in love, college students said “I do” and began to share.

041We really had no idea what lay ahead, but one thing we knew. Whatever it was, we would face it together.

I can safely say this was the second best decision that I ever made in my life. The best I had made only a few years before, the decision to trust in Christ and believe the Bible.

The year, 1963 brought a tremendous change in my life in a good way. We had very little money and were barely able to stay afloat financially, we learned quickly what it would take to survive. I learned that the man I married was willing to work, and work hard, to provide for us. Other lessons learned were that where we lived and possessions are not nearly so important as the person with whom we make the journey. Most importantly, we learned to trust the Lord.

The year, 1963 also brought a tremendous change to our nation, but not in a good way. On November 22, the president I would have voted for, had been old enough to vote, was assassinated. This event taught me not to take anything for granted and I began to question whether some of our leaders were who they claimed to be. I seriously wondered about LBJ. Not long after this I read a book entitled “None Dare Call It Treason.” This book began to shape my political thinking.

Jerry and I learned many life lessons from May 25, 1963 until the year 1965, but our greatest came in 1965 with the birth of our beautiful first child. Our love for her was surpassed only by our ignorance of child care. My husband was an only child and I was the youngest of two children. Neither had been around a baby, ever! When she was one week of age she awoke one morning with a snotty nose. We quickly dressed her, wrapped her in a blanket and headed to the pediatrician’s office. We had no appointment, nor had we bothered to call. The receptionist looked at us for a minute as we stood there asking to see the doctor and said, “You know, I am going to let you see him this time, BUT, we do NOT see children without a prior appointment and we only see sick children if they have had a temperature for over 24 hours.” The doctor, Dr. Kermit Pitt, was much nicer and made us feel better as he taught us how to suction her nasal passage.

043Alison was born April 9, 1965. Her birth was a great blessing followed by two more blessings.

Dana was born January 18, 1967 and our son was born July 3, 1972.

These three have been blessings beyond blessing in our lives and have proven that Psalm 127:3 is true:

“Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.”

045046

 

 

I thank God for all He has done for me and for my husband these past 53 years. I praise Him for my family, which now includes seven grandchildren and 5 great-grandchildren. Not one of His promises have failed and His word has been a lamp for our feet and light to our path just as He said in Psalm 119:105.

My advice to young people today is trust the Lord enough to seek Him and serve Him and marry the person He selects for you. That will make all the difference.

 

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.