Do you remember when you first learned that you will die?


‘DEAL WITH IT’

I remember a little four year old girl swinging on a yard swing. Her sister is there. The older, wiser sister made a casual remark. The four year old didn’t pay attention to the complete  statement. She only heard the phrase, “when I die. “Oh,” replied the four year old, “I’m not going to die.” And then it came. The sister, who knew almost everything, said …”Everybody has to die.”

I was that four-year old. I had no idea!  ‘Everybody,’ at that moment, meant me. 😳 I did what seemed to be the only thing to do. I jumped out of the swing and ran inside thinking I could prove her wrong – I asked our mother.

It wasn’t Mother’s answer that I remember. It was the look on her face when she heard my question and immediately I knew. It was true. 😪

It took me some time to process this enormous truth. Die? Everybody? ME? REALLY?

Later I learned that the Bible teaches that it is appointed unto man once to die and after that, the judgement. (Hebrews 9:27)

image

Deal with it was my only option at that point.

Thankfully the story doesn’t end here.

‘CHRIST DEALT WITH IT ON MY BEHALF’

As traumatized as I was learning that death is inevitable, I soon learned there is good news! There is the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Death isn’t the end of life! We have the glorious promise that when we enter into covenant with our God by trusting His only begotten Son, Christ Jesus the Lord, we enter into Christ, and in Him is life-eternal.

As wonderful as this knowledge is, fear of death was not my reason for receiving Christ as my personal Savior. The day I trusted Christ, I was reading John chapter 3 and I just knew. I knew that the Bible is true and that I had not been born again. I knew…and I told God, “I don’t understand everything here, but I believe what is written.” That simple act of faith placed me on a new path. The Holy Spirit of God began to work in my life, giving me new life in Christ Jesus.

Jesus explains both life and the judgement in John 3:3-20:

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. 17For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him. 18Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God. 19And this is the judgment: the light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the light because their works were evil. 20For everyone who does wicked things hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his works should be exposed. 21But whoever does what is true comes to the light, so that it may be clearly seen that his works have been carried out in God.”

Jesus also said, “I am the light of the world.” (John 8:12) May we love the light and walk in it. Jesus cares and He takes all our cares upon Himself.

Would you like to share how and when you learned these things?

 

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Called His name Jesus, Christ, Christianity, Covenant Promises, New Covenant. Bookmark the permalink.