The First Christmas Carol – Glory to God in the Highest!


In the book of the Revelation, Jesus and the Spirit speaks to the apostle John and tells John to write what he has been shown to the different angels of the seven churches.

Pin Bible Map Sardis And Surrounding Region on Pinterest

We know it is Jesus and the Spirit because He tells John in Revelation 1:17-20 …

“Fear not, I am the first and the last, 18 and the living one. I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades. 19 Write therefore the things that you have seen, those that are and those that are to take place after this. 20 As for the mystery of the seven stars that you saw in my right hand, and the seven golden lampstands, the seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands are the seven churches.”

After the message to each church we read:

He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.’

Everything Jesus and the Spirit spoke is extremely important, but for this post let’s look at  their message to the angel of the church of Philadelphia.

“I know your works. Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut. I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.”

Those in the church of Philadelphia were commended because they had not denied the name of Jesus. They had an open door before them which no man is able to shut!

Years before in Bethlehem shepherds heard the first Christmas Carol. It was heard on the advent of the birth of Christ. The Angelic Host appeared and as the writer C.P. Hia describes in Our Daily Bead, their appearance was followed by an unexpected rendition of “Glory to God in the Highest”…

Today at Christmas we honor the Lord Jesus Christ because Christians know that only those who do not deny the name – Immanuel, Lord of Hosts, King of kings, Redeemer, Wonderful Savior, First and the Last, Jesus – will be able to stand in that day. Jesus also said:

12 The one who conquers, I will make him a pillar in the temple of my God. Never shall he go out of it, and I will write on him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which comes down from my God out of heaven, and my own new name. 13 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.’

This Christmas we sing “Glory to God in the highest” because this is how the angels announced the birth of Jesus in Bethlehem!

GLORY TO GOD IN THE HIGHEST

Glory to God in the highest,
and on earth peace to people of good will.
We praise you, we bless you,
we adore you, we glorify you,
we give you thanks for your great glory,
Lord God, heavenly King, O God, almighty Father.
Lord Jesus Christ, Only Begotten Son,
Lord God, Lamb of God, Son of the Father,
you take away the sins of the world,
have mercy on us;
you take away the sins of the world,
receive our prayer;
you are seated at the right hand of the Father,
have mercy on us.
For you alone are the Holy One,
you alone are the Lord,
you alone are the Most High, Jesus Christ,
with the Holy Spirit,
in the glory of God the Father.
Amen.

MERRY CHRISTMAS

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Called His name Jesus, Christ, Christianity, Christmas, Christmas Carols. Bookmark the permalink.