Looking back..


 

Jesus is the way the truth and the Life | The Way, The Truth, The Lif ...

Looking back over my life, there are moments that I remember when the Holy Spirit revealed certain truths to me that forever changed my life. These were truths revealed by the Spirit from God’s word about the Living Word.

– SOME THINGS I REMEMBER –

Do you remember when?

  • You learned that the curtain or veil in the Temple was rent or torn from top to bottom when Christ died on the cross of Calvary and the significance of this event. (Matthew 27:51, Mark 15:37-38, Luke 23:45) I was at a Bible study in the homes of friends and had never focused on this verse or even considered why it happened. I am still amazed that our Lord God would speak so clearly to show us that Jesus is the Way!
  • You learned that to have eternal life, you must be born again? (John 3:1-18) I was sitting at our kitchen table reading the Bible when I learned this. It was alone in the house. My parents and only sister were working and I had just finished reading Gone With the Wind. I thought since I had read such a long fiction book, to please God, I should read the Bible all the way through. That day I had reached the third chapter of John. As I read I realized that I did not know about being born again and I did not fully understand. I did, however, fully believe and the Lord saved me at that time! From that moment on, He lived within me and worked in my heart and life and I knew Jesus is the Truth!
  • You learned that everyone will die, including yourself. (Hebrews 9:27) When I learned this, I was very young and I thought we had a choice. My older sister cleared that up for me and I checked with Mother. Surely Sis was wrong. As it turned out, she was absolutely right. At that time, I wasn’t told that in Christ ‘though a man die, yet shall he live….’I am glad I learned that Jesus is the Life. (John 11:25, 2 Corinthians 13:4)

Perhaps, like me, you did not learn all at once what Jesus meant when He said,

“I AM THE WAY, THE TRUTH, AND THE LIFE, NO MAN COMES TO THE FATHER, BUT BY ME.  JOHN 14:6

These are three wonderful facts upon which we are able to rest our lives!

I am thankful to the LORD that He revealed Himself and these wonderful truths to me.

In Luke 12:15 Jesus tells us that “ life does not consist in an abundance of possessions.” Those who have experienced the new birth understand what Paul meant when he wrote Ephesians 4. Here is a part of that chapter:

20 But that is not how you learned about the Messiah, 21 assuming you heard about Him and were taught by Him, because the truth is in Jesus. 22 You took off your former way of life, the old self that is corrupted by deceitful desires; 23 you are being renewed in the spirit of your minds; 24 you put on the new self, the one created according to God’s likeness in righteousness and purity of the truth.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Teaching, Christ, Christianity, Covenant Promises, Jesus, New Covenant, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.