Comparing Tenet 5 of Watchtower to the Holy Bible


I AM THAT I AM – YHVH

WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS ABOUT GOD’S NAME

Then Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?” God said to Moses, “I AM who I AM.” And He said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’” God also said to Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘The LORD, (YHVH) the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever, and thus I am to be remembered throughout all generations. Exodus 3:13-15

WHAT  WATCHTOWER TEACHES

Tenet 5. The name Jehovah is God’s name and is regularly used in Christian prayer and speech by those who genuinely honor him. (Recently in Watchtower the use of the name Jehovah was described as a “blunder.” The name was first used by a Catholic monk. Watchtower chooses to continue using this name.)

DISCUSSION 

If this were posed as a question, it might read: Is Jehovah God’s name and will we use this in Christian prayer if we genuinely honor Him?

Here is what Jesus told His disciples as recorded in the Bible:

Matthew 6:9-13 After this manner therefore pray ye: Our FATHER which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: for thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.

Hebrews would not pronounce the name of God at all. It is my understanding that the actual pronunciation of His name is unknown.  For purposes of pronunciation, YHVH has been changed to Yahweh. The name Yahweh is the covenant name between God and His people. It is not used of false gods. Some spell God’s name Jehovah.  There are those who believe God’s name to be YAH.  

The things we know:

  1. God identified Himself to Moses as I AM that I AM. God also said His forever name is YHVH.
  2. English translators translated YHVH as LORD. The upper case was to indicate that this is YHVH as opposed to the name Lord or Adonai.
  3. Jesus taught us to pray to the Father.

Furthermore:

  1. The Bible and the Lord Jesus teaches us to pray in Jesus name if we are to have our prayers answered:

John 14:13 Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask me anything IN MY NAME, I will do it.

 WHAT DOES THE WORD SAY ABOUT THE NAME OF JESUS?

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Colossians 3:17


Mark 16:17 – And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;

Exodus 3:14 – And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

Acts 8:12 – But when they believed Philip preaching the things concerning the kingdom of God, and the NAME OF JESUS CHRIST, they were baptized, both men and women.

Acts 4:12 – Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.

John 14:13 – And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.

John 14:6 – Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: NO MAN COMETH UNTO THE FATHER BUT BY ME.

1 Corinthians 6:11 – And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the NAME OF THE LORD JESUS, AND BY THE SPIRIT OF OUR GOD.

Luke 10:17 – And the seventy returned again with joy, saying, Lord, even the devils are subject unto us through THY NAME.

Matthew 1:21 – And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call HIS NAME JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins.

Acts 4:30 – By stretching forth thine hand to heal; and that signs and wonders may be done by the NAME OF THEY HOLY CHILD JESUS.

Acts 2:38 – Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the NAME OF JESUS CHRIST for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.

Revelation 22:13 – I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last.

Acts 3:12-16 – And when Peter saw [it], he answered unto the people, Ye men of Israel, why marvel ye at this? or why look ye so earnestly on us, as though by our own power or holiness we had made this man to walk? The God of Abraham, and of Isaac, and of Jacob, the God of our fathers, HATH GLORIFIED HIS SON JESUS; whom ye delivered up, and denied him in the presence of Pilate, when he was determined to let him go…And HIS NAME through faith in HIS NAME hath made this man strong, whom ye see and know: yea, the faith which is by him hath given him this perfect soundness in the presence of you all.

Romans 10:13 – For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.

John 8:58 – JESUS SAID unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, BEFORE ABRAHAM WAS, I AM.

Mark 16:17 – And these signs shall follow them that believe; IN MY NAME shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;

Acts 8:12 – But when they believed Philip preaching the things concerning the kingdom of God, and the NAME OF JESUS CHRIST, they were baptized, both men and women.

Philippians 2: 9-11 Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and GIVEN HIM A NAME WHICH IS ABOVE EVERY NAME: That at the NAME OF JESUS every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; And that every tongue should confess that JESUS CHRIST IS LORD TO THE GLORY OF GOD THE FATHER.

CONCLUSION

or

Is Jehovah God’s name and will we use this in Christian prayer if we genuinely honor Him?

The Bible teaches that God’s forever name is YHVH. We are to know and remember this, but He identified Himself as I AM that I AM. To genuinely honor Him we must pray to the Father in Jesus Name.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Teaching, Biblical History, Called His name Jesus, Christ, Christianity, Jehovah's Witness, Jesus, Our World Today, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.