Comparing Tenet 23 of Watchtower to the Holy Bible…


WATCHTOWER CLAIMS

Tenet 23 – True Christians will be known by their zeal in regularly engaging in public efforts to preach the gospel of the kingdom as taught by Jehovah’s Witnesses, particularly by disseminating Watchtower literature and offering to conduct Bible studies in people’s homes using that literature.  wit.irr.org

One of the key phrases here to note is “the gospel of the kingdom AS TAUGHT BY JEHOVAH’S WITNESSES.” 

THE GOSPEL AS TAUGHT IN THE BIBLE

Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain. For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures: 1 Corinthians 15:1-4

THE GOSPEL WATCHTOWER TEACHES

Jehovah’s Witnesses may argue that they do believe in the atoning death of Christ (which they call the “ransom sacrifice”).  A study of their literature shows that while they acknowledge Christ’s sacrifice, they do not acknowledge His physical resurrection and they have added other salvation requirements to their ‘members’. JW’s are told they must deny the Deity of Christ and the Holy Spirit. They must use the name Jehovah. They must believe Watchtower doctrine because they teach that Christ reigns through The Watchtower Bible and Tract Society.  See The Spirit Watch

WATCHTOWER TEACHES

True Christians will be disseminating Watchtower literature and offering to conduct Bible studies in people’s homes using that literature.

THE BIBLE TEACHES

There are many passages teaching how true Christians are to live and how we will know them. Distributing literature isn’t mentioned. 

31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with Him, then He will sit on his glorious throne. 32 Before Him will be gathered all the nations, and He will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 And He will place the sheep on His right, but the goats on the left. 34 Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36 I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ 37 Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? 38 And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? 39 And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ 40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

41 “Then He will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ …

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Ephesians 2:10

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2

The Great Commission

14Afterward He appeared to the eleven themselves as they were reclining at table, and He rebuked them for their unbelief and hardness of heart, because they had not believed those who saw Him after He had risen. 15 And He said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. 16Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.

And all those having believed were together the same, and having all things in common. Acts 2:44

Romans 12:1 12 I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.

Matthew 7:16 By their fruits you will know them. Do you gather grapes from thorns, or figs from thistles?

Galatians 5:22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

CONCLUSION

On this tenet, words from the Bible describing true Christians are posted. I ask each reader, whether you are a Jehovah’s Witness, a born-again Christian, or a person who has been witnessed to by a Christian or approached by a Jehovah’s Witness, read the words of the Bible and decide what you believe Almighty God says a true Christian will be doing.

For further reading see Deity of Christ and the Holy Spirit

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Teaching, Called His name Jesus, Christ, Christianity, Jehovah's Witness, Jesus, Religion, Watchtower Society. Bookmark the permalink.