My Lord and my God…


THE DEATH OF DOUBT

In Our Daily Bread devotional for February 13, 2017, Tim Gustafson wrote a devotional about the disciple called ‘Doubting Thomas.’ It is an excellent devotional.

While reading “The Death of Doubt“, I began to think  of my recent posts. There are those among us who, rather than blessing others by proclaiming the risen Lord, go door to door sowing seeds of doubt. I speak of those planting the seeds of Arianism.

Thomas probably did not realize that just as Christ expelled his own doubts that day, he would give an answer to anyone deceived by reading or listening to a follower of Arius. This is because Thomas recognized Christ as both risen Lord and God the Son.

THOMAS CALLS JESUS BOTH LORD AND GOD

According to the Greek interlinear, in both Mark 12:29 and John 20:28  the Greek word Θεὸς  is the word God. Here are the verses:

And Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord our God is one Lord:  Mark 12:29

28 Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” John 20:28

Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God is one LORD:  Deuteronomy 6:4

I am thankful that our Lord had the gospel writers record Thomas’s words.

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Teaching, Called His name Jesus, Christ, Christianity, Eternal Godhead, Jehovah's Witness, Jesus, Jewish People, Our World Today, Watchtower Society. Bookmark the permalink.