Only By Revelation


Having joined a group called Jehovah’s Witnesses and Biblical Discussion Group on Facebook, I have become more convinced than ever that knowledge of the personhood of the Lord Jesus Christ comes only through revelation.

Revelation Of Jesus Christ | HD Walls | Find Wallpapers

While the entire Bible is written to reveal Christ and the plan of salvation, one book in particular is fully dedicated to this subject:

REVELATION OF JESUS CHRIST!

This should be no surprise because we are clearly told:

“All things have been delivered to Me by My Father, and no one knows who the Son is except the Father, and who the Father is except the Son, and [the one] to whom the Son wills to reveal [Him]. Luke 10:22 & Matthew 11:27

We see this expressed when Christ ask his disciples about their understanding of His identity, or ” Who do men sat that I am?” Peter’s response and Jesus reply was:

13 When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I, the Son of man, am?14  And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets.15 He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? 16 And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God. 17 And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.

Galatians 1:15-17 does teach that if we have Christ living within us, our lives can serve to allow Him to be revealed. Paul wrote:

But when it pleased God, who separated me from my mother’s womb and called [me] through His grace to reveal His Son in me, that I might preach Him among the Gentiles, I did not immediately confer with flesh and blood, nor did I go up to Jerusalem to those [who were] apostles before me; but I went to Arabia, and returned again to Damascus.

Even so, the knowledge of Christ came through revelation. Arguing or even continuing to show people the verses in the Bible that teach Christ will not change a person’s mind unless the Spirit of Truth reveals to them the Person of Christ. I suppose our job is to pray for others as Paul did:

16…making mention of you in my prayers; 17 That the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give unto you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of him: 18 The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that ye may know what is the hope of his calling, and what the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints…

Only the through revelation will we know Father, Son and Holy Spirit as The God who is all in all. 

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible Teaching, Christ, Covenant Promises, Jehovah's Witness, Jesus, New Covenant. Bookmark the permalink.