Does Jesus say, “I Am God” when He says, “I am the Bread of Life?”


JESUS SAID, “I AM THE BREAD OF LIFE.”

Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty. (John 6:35)

 When Jesus said, “I am the bread of life”, the Jews knew that He meant something very important by this statement.  Devout Jews knew about the “Bread of the Presence.”

 

 

WHO SENT JESUS TO EARTH?

Jesus frequently mentioned to His disciples that He came to earth to do the will of the Father. Men had trouble seeing God when looking at Christ because He came as a man, He prayed to the Father as we are to pray, and He even said the Father was greater. Jesus reminded all who heard Him that He was on earth by the will of the Father and He had made Himself dependent upon the Father.

Just as the living Father sent Me and I live because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on Me will live because of Me. John 6:57

Our nature is such that we have trouble looking at another man (Son of man) and seeing God (Son of God.) Yet John said the Word became flesh and dwelt among us and that “…the Word was God.”

What we could miss is that when God became a man, He became totally dependent upon the Person’s of the Father and the Holy Spirit. Although He was able to call on the Father and for a legion of angels at any moment, He gave up that right and did only the will of the Father as the Redeemer, Savior, Lamb of God. 

Jesus said to him. “For all who draw the sword will die by the sword. 53 Are you not aware that I can call on My Father, and He will at once put at my disposal more than twelve legions of angels? 54 But how then would the Scriptures be fulfilled that say it must happen this way?” Matthew 26:52-54

Why did the Father send Jesus to earth?

So that we might live.

Jesus then said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, it was not Moses who gave you the bread from heaven, but my Father gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is He who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.” They said, therefore, unto him, ‘Sir, always give us this bread.’ Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. John 6:32-35

ARE WE ABLE TO LIVE WITHOUT BREAD?

No, Jesus said plainly:

John 6:48-58 (KJV)
I am that bread of life. 49 Your fathers did eat manna in the wilderness, and are dead. 50 This is the bread which cometh down from heaven, that a man may eat thereof, and not die. 51 I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world. 52 The Jews therefore strove among themselves, saying, How can this man give us his flesh to eat? 53 Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you. 54 Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day. 55 For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. 56 He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him. 57 As the living Father hath sent me, and I live by the Father: so he that eateth me, even he shall live by me. 58 This is that bread which came down from heaven: not as your fathers did eat manna, and are dead: he that eateth of this bread shall live for ever.

We cannot live without the Bread of Life.

DOES THIS MEAN JESUS IS GOD?

We learn at MessianicGoodnews:

The Bread of the Presence was set before the lamp in the holy place. “Bread of Presence” in Hebrew is לחם פנים (lechem panim) which, literally translated, means “bread of faces.” The face of God is revealed in Jesus Christ. The Bread of the Presence prophetically illustrated how God would come into this world which he created and make his dwelling among his people to reveal his glory to us in the face of Jesus Christ. The apostle Paul wrote: “For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ (2 Corinthians 4:6). Jesus Christ, the Son, is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being … (Heb.1:3).

Hebrews, who best understood the symbolism in the tabernacle, thought so.

The use of the phrase, “I Am” also indicates Jesus is revealing His deity.

Only God is able to give life.

 

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible prophecy, Bible Teaching, Christ, Christianity, Grace of God, Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.