The Story of the White Stone and Those Who Are Born-Again


WHO WILL RECEIVE A WHITE STONE?

To him who overcomes, to him I will give some of the hidden manna, and I will give him a white stone, and a new name written on the stone which no one knows but he who receives it. Revelation 2:17

The significance of a white stone isn’t common knowledge today, however, when the apostle John was writing on the Isle of Patmos all people knew the significance of receiving a white stone.

A ‘white stone’ meant a criminal or law breaker was declared ‘not guilty’ if they were presented with a white stone. It was an acquital of the crime of which a person was accused.

In biblical times, juries in a court of law used a white stone for a not-guilty verdict and a black stone for guilty. A white stone also gained the bearer entrance into such events as banquets…Our Daily Bread

Those whose lives were endangered due to their crimes and offenses must have been extremely relieved when the judge handed them a white stone and not a black stone.

THOSE WHO OVERCOME RECEIVE A WHITE STONE

There will be a point where time as we know it will end. Jesus told us in the passage below that the ones who ‘overcome’ will be given a white stone (declared not guilty). Others will find that Christ is at war with them and His weapon will be the sword of His mouth.

So who are the ‘overcomers’ spoken to in Revelation 2:17? They will get not only a white stone, but will also have a new name and be fed with hidden manna?

12 “And to the angel of the church in Pergamum write:
The One who has the sharp two-edged sword says this:  13‘I know where you dwell, where Satan’s throne is; and you hold fast My name, and did not deny My faith even in the days of Antipas, My witness, My faithful one, who was killed among you, where Satan dwells. 14 ‘But I have a few things against you, because you have there some who hold the teaching of Balaam, who kept teaching Balak to put a stumbling block before the sons of Israel, to eat things sacrificed to idols and to commit acts of immorality. 15 ‘So you also have some who in the same way hold the teaching of the Nicolaitans. 16 ‘Therefore repent; or else I am coming to you quickly, and I will make war against them with the sword of My mouth. 17 ‘He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, to him I will give some of the hidden manna, and I will give him a white stone, and a new name written on the stone which no one knows but he who receives it.Scriptures at Bible Hub

Eight times in the Book of the Revelation of Jesus Christ, Christ promises blessings to those who ‘overcome.’

WHO DOES GOD SAY WILL OVERCOME THE WORLD?

God has told us in the Bible what it means to ‘overcome.’ Here is what we find.

For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith. Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? 1 John 5:4-5

Because the person who has been born of God will overcome, it follows that they will not fall victim to false teachings. Neither will they follow or practice the teachings of humans in place of the Living God and His word. Reread the above passage for what marked those who were not receiving a ‘white stone.’

In Pergamus, there were those who stood fast and remained witnesses for Christ. They did not deny the faith, even when they saw Antipas killed for standing fast and not denying, and even though they were dwelling in the place where Satan’s throne is. We must conclude that these were they who have been born of God or born again – born into a new life that is lived ‘In Christ.”

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places… Ephesians 1:3

May we hear and believe the word of our Lord Jesus Christ:

John 3:3 Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.”…7 You should not be surprised at my saying, ‘You must be born again.

How can these things be? Paul wrote these words to help us understand:

Galatians 2:20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave Himself for me.

Born again believers who have faith in Christ will receive a ‘white stone.’

Because Jesus has overcome, we are safe in Christ. Thank you Father, Son and Holy Spirit!

 

 

About jlue

I am a grandmother of seven and I like to garden, read, study the Bible, and spend time with family. I am not very politically active, but very interested in who is elected to lead our country.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible prophecy, Bible Teaching, Christ, Christianity, Covenant Promises, Jesus, New Covenant, Our World Today. Bookmark the permalink.